

Date: Wednesday, December 13, 2023

From: Rayburn Murray, Legislative Services Coordinator

Subject: COR2023-054

Report Committee of Adjustment – Council Member Appointments

This document and its attachments are public and available in an accessible format upon request.

#### Recommendation

That report COR2023-54 be received; and

That staff be directed to present a by-law to appoint Councillor Cathy Moore Coburn and Councillor Ryan Thompson to the Committee of Adjustment from December 13, 2023, until December 13, 2024.

### **Background**

Section 44 of the *Planning Act, 1990,* provides municipalities with the authority to establish a Committee of Adjustment. By-law 2022-042, being a By-law to establish a Committee of Adjustment and Committee procedures, was passed by Council on July 13, 2022, requiring that two (2) Council members shall be appointed to the Committee. As a result, Councillor Cathy Moore Coburn and Councillor Ryan Thompson were appointed to the Committee of Adjustment by By-law 2022-074 on December 14, 2022.

Section 44 (3) of the *Planning Act* provides that the members of the committee who are members of a municipal council shall be appointed annually. As a result, a by-law will be presented at the December 13, 2023 Council meeting.



# **Financial Impact**

Members of the Committee of Adjustment are compensated per By-law 2021-088 – Council Remuneration Policy.

#### Conclusion

Per the requirements of the Planning Act, Council is required to re-appoint members to the Committee of Adjustment on an annual basis.

Respectfully Submitted: Rayburn Murray, Legislative Services Coordinator



# **Report Approval Details**

Document Title:	COR2023-XX - Committee of Adjustment – Council Member Appointments.docx
Attachments:	
Final Approval Date:	Dec 1, 2023

This report and all of its attachments were approved and signed as outlined below:

Michael Benner, Principal Planner

Carly Craig, Acting Clerk