

May 26, 2023

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Via email – premier@ontario.ca

Dear Premier Ford,

Please be advised that the Council of the Corporation of the County of Lennox and Addington passed the attached resolution regarding Bill 5 – Stopping Harassment and Abuse by Local Leaders Act, 2022 at its Regular Meeting held May 24, 2023:

Your consideration on this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

McCempie

Tracey McKenzie County Clerk/Communications Manager

cc: The Honorable Steve Clark, Ontario Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Shelby Kramp-Neuman, MP, Hastings, Lennox and Addington Ric Bresee, MPP, Hastings, Lennox and Addington The Association of Municipalities of Ontario All Ontario Municipalities



RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CORPORATION OF THE COUNTY OF LENNOX AND ADDINGTON

Meeting held - May 24, 2023

Bill 5 Advocacy

CC-23-148

Whereas Bill 5—Stopping Harassment and Abuse by Local Leaders Act, 2022 was introduced in the Ontario Legislature by MPP Stephen Blais through a Private Member's Bill on August 10, 2022;

And Whereas the County of Lennox and Addington and Council are committed to demonstrating good governance and greater accountability to its Code of Conduct and workplace policies;

Now Therefore Be It Resolved that the Council of the Corporation of Lennox and Addington endorses Bill 5—Stopping Harassment and Abuse by Local Leaders Act, 2022 which would require the Code of Conduct for municipal Councillors and members of local boards to include a requirement to comply with workplace violence and harassment policies and permit municipalities to direct the Integrity Commissioner to apply to the court to vacate a member's seat if the Commissioner's Inquiry determines that the member has contravened this requirement;

And That the Council of the Corporation of Lennox and Addington expresses its support for Bill 5 by directing the Clerk to send this motion to the Premier of Ontario; the Ontario Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO); the local Members of Parliament (MP's); the local Members of Provincial Parliament (MPP's); and all Ontario Municipalities.

CARRIED.

Jonny bogg

Warden Henry Hogg