

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF COBOURG

The Corporation of the Town of Cobourg Legislative Services Department Victoria Hall 55 King Street West Cobourg, ON K9A 2M2 Brent Larmer Municipal Clerk/ Director of Legislative Services Telephone: (905) 372-4301 Ext. 4401 Email: blarmer@cobourg.ca Fax: (905) 372-7558

SENT VIA EMAIL

May 1, 2023

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Premier Doug Ford MP Philip Lawrence MPP David Piccini All Ontario municipalities

Re: Bill 5 - Stopping Harassment and Abuse by Local Leaders Act 2022

Please see attached Resolution adopted at the Cobourg Municipal Council meeting held on May 1, 2023.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at <u>blarmer@cobourg.ca</u> or by telephone at (905)-372-4301 Ext. 4401.

Sincerely,

Brent Larmer Municipal Clerk/Director of Legislative Services Returning Officer Legislative Services Department





:
•

THAT Council receive the correspondence from the Municipality of Mulmar and Duffer for information purposes; and

FURTHER THAT Council endorse and support Bill 5 - Stopping Harassment and Abuse by Local Leaders Act 2022 was introduced in the Ontario Legislature by MPP Steven Blaze through a private member's bill on August 10 2022; and

FURTHER THAT the Town of Coburg and Council are committed to demonstrating good governance and greater accountability for its Code of Conduct and workplace policies; and

NOW THEREFORE BE RESOLVED THAT the Council and the Corporation of the Town of Cobourg endorses Bill 5 Stopping Harassment and Abuse by Local Leaders Act 2022 which would require the code of conduct for municipal councillors and members of local boards to include or requirement to comply with workplace violence and harassment policies and permit municipalities to direct the integrity commissioner to apply to the court to vacate a member seat if the commissioners inquiry determines that the member has contravened this requirement; and

FURTHER THAT Council expresses its support for Bill 5 by directing the Clerk to send a copy of this motion to the Premier of Ontario the Ontario, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing the local members of parliament MPs the local members of provincial department and MPPS and all Ontario municipalities.