

## Clerk's Department

595 9th Avenue East, Owen Sound Ontario N4K 3E3 519-372-0219 x 1294 / 1-800-567-GREY / Fax: 519-376-8998

October 28, 2019

Hon. Caroline Mulroney Minister of Transportation 777 Bay Street, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Toronto, ON M7A 1Z8

VIA EMAIL

RE: Support for Teach the Reach Act, 2019

Dear: Hon. Caroline Mulroney

Please be advised that at the Council meeting held October 24, 2019, Grey County Council endorsed the following resolution:

CW192-19 Moved by: Councillor Desai

Seconded by: Councillor Burley

Whereas MPP Marit Stiles has introduced Private Members Bill 89, Teach the Reach Act, 2019 in order to make roads safer for Ontario cyclists; and

Whereas the Bill would amend the Highway Traffic Act to require the Ministry to ensure the Dutch Reach method is explained in driver education handbooks and taught in driver education courses that are approved or licensed by the Ministry; and

Whereas Grey County continues to promote and encourage safe cycling along Grey County roads;

Now Therefore Be It Resolved That Grey County Council supports Bill 89, Teach the Reach Act, 2019; and

That this resolution be forwarded to the Minister of Transportation, Member of Provincial Parliament Marit Stiles, Grey County Members of Provincial Parliament and all Grey County municipalities.

Grey County: Colour It Your Way

Page 2 October 22, 2019

If you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours truly,

Tara Warder
Deputy Clerk/Legislative Coordinator
(519) 372-0219 x 1294
Tara.Warder@grey.ca
www.grey.ca

cc. Marit Stiles, Member of Provincial Parliament, Davenport
Hon. Bill Walker, Member of Provincial Parliament, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound
Jim Wilson, Member of Provincial Parliament, Simcoe-Grey
Briana Bloomfield, Clerk, City of Owen Sound
Corrina Giles, Clerk, Town of the Blue Mountains
Wendi Hunter, Clerk, Township of Georgian Bluffs
Joanne Hyde, Clerk, Township of Southgate
Mark Turner, Clerk, Municipality of West Grey
Patty Sinnamon, Clerk, Township of Chatsworth
Raylene Martell, Clerk, Municipality of Grey Highlands
Matt Smith, Clerk, Municipality of Meaford
Brian Tocheri, Clerk, Town of Hanover