

519.376.3076 237897 Inglis Falls Road Owen Sound, ON N4K 5N6 www.greysauble.on.ca Connect.

April 28, 2021

VIA EMAIL: <u>bdrury@georgianbluffs.ca</u>

Ms. Brittany Drury Township of Georgian Bluffs 177964 Grey Road 18, R.R. #3, Owen Sound, ON N4K 5N5

Brittany,

I am reaching out to advise the Township of some recent changes to the Conservation Authorities Act that may affect your municipality.

As you may be aware, the Provincial Government has enacted several changes to the Conservation Authorities Act over the past several years. Most recently, changes were implemented through Bill 229, the "budget bill" on December 8, 2020. At that time, some sections of the Act were proclaimed, many others still require proclamation before they are in force and effect. On February 2, 2021, the Province proclaimed several other sections of the Act, predominantly related to governance. Two of these changes may have an impact on the Township's membership on the Grey Sauble Conservation Authority Board of Directors.

Section 14(1.1) of the Act now requires that at least 70% of the representation from any single municipality must be comprised of municipal councillors. For all municipalities within the Grey Sauble watershed, this effectively means that <u>all</u> members from each municipality must be councillors. It is our understanding that the term "councillor" includes a mayor and/or a deputy mayor.

Under Section 14(1.2) of the Act, a municipality may apply to the Minister to have this percentage reduce, if the municipality desired a citizen appointee. The decision would be at the discretion of the Minister.

Municipality of Arran-Elderslie, Town of the Blue Mountains, Township of Chatsworth, Township of Georgian Bluffs, Municipality of Grey Highlands, Municipality of Meaford, City of Owen Sound, Town of South Bruce Peninsula

Under Section 17(1.1), a chair or vice-chair shall hold office for a term of one year and shall serve for no more than two consecutive terms. Previously, GSCA's Chair and Vice-Chair were elected annually, but had no limit on consecutive terms.

Under Section 17(1.2), appointments must rotate amongst participating municipalities, a member from a specific municipality cannot be appointed to succeed an outgoing chair or vice-chair appointed by the same municipality.

Under Section 17(1.3), the Minister may grant permission to appoint a chair or vice-chair for a term of more than one year or to hold office for more than two consecutive years or waive the rotating provision.

This change to the Act is not ideal as it impacts the knowledge gained and the learning curve associated with position.

We expect further proclamations and also consultations for regulations to occur within the next few months. We will continue to communicate these changes as they happen.

I respectfully request that you please distribute this to your Council at the next available meeting.

Please do not hesitate to reach out with any questions and necessary clarifications.

Regards,

I de

Tim Lanthier Chief Administrative Officer

c.c.: Mr. Dwight Burley, Mayor, GSCA Director Ms. Cathy Moore-Coburn, Councillor, GSCA Director Mr. Al Meneses, CAO