Grey Bruce OPP Detachment Board

Board Orientation March 25, 2025



Meet the Team

- Georgian Bluffs
 - Brittany Drury, Deputy CAO / Director of Corporate Services
 - Carly Craig, Manager of Legislative Services / Clerk
 - Jodi Ward, Council and Committee Coordinator
- Ontario Provincial Police (OPP)
 - Marla Barfoot, Interim Detachment Commander



Welcome and Opening Remarks





Mayor Sue Carleton

Township of Georgian Bluffs, Mayor

Niall Lobley

Township of Georgian Bluffs, CAO





Agenda

Legislative Foundations

Role of the OPP

Procedures

Code of Conduct

Board Policy Work

Oath Administration

Election of Chair and Vice Chair

2025 Board Meeting Calendar

Networking and Lunch

Recap



March 26, 2019

Ontario passed the Comprehensive Ontario Police Services Act. 2019 (Bill 68) and established the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019

(CSPA)

April 1, 2024

CSPA is proclaimed. Police Services Act is repealed.

All existing Section10 and 5.1 Boards are dissolved.

March 12, 2024

Community appointees are appointed to the Board by the Community **Appointee Selection** Committee

October 2024

Board insurance is finalized and made available through **OAPSB**

Grey Bruce Joint Board composition proposal is submitted to the Ministry of the Solicitor General and approved by all participating Councils

June 2021

Council appointees are appointed to the Board by all participating detachment communities

Spring 2024

Final training installment is released by the province.

Provincial appointees are appointed to the Board.

September 2024

Inaugural meeting is held

March 2025

- Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019
 - Proclaimed in April 2024
 - Repealed the former Police Services Act
- Police Services Boards are responsible to ensure the provision of adequate and effective policing
 - Definition and exclusions from adequate and effective policing
 - Role of the Board
- OPP Boards are governed by Sections 67-71 of the Act



- Board Composition
 - 1 Elected Official from all participating detachment municipalities and First Nation communities (9 members Appointments Effective Remainder of 2022-2026 Council Term)
 - Councillor Cathy Moore Coburn, Township of Georgian Bluffs
 - Councillor Robert Uhrig, Municipality of Meaford
 - Councillor Anthony Chegahno, Chippewas of Nawash
 - Councillor Audra Root, Saugeen Ojibway Nation
 - Mayor Jay Kirkland, Town of South Bruce Peninsula
 - Mayor Paul McQueen, Municipality of Grey Highlands
 - Councillor Monica Singh Soares, Township of Southgate
 - Mayor Scott Mackey, Township of Chatsworth
 - Councillor Todd Dowd, Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula



- 4 Community Appointees (Appointments Effective Remainder of 2022-2026 Council Term)
 - Michele Reynolds, Township of Georgian Bluffs
 - Nicole Martin, Municipality of Grey Highlands
 - Karl Ellis, Township of Southgate
 - Gerry Solursh, Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula
- 3 Provincial Appointees
 - Carol Reaney (Two-year appointment June 6, 2026)
 - Bob Nicol (One-year appointment November 22, 2025)
 - Gary Wood (Two-year appointment September 25, 2026)



- Composition was approved by the Ministry of the Solicitor General in 2023, via formal proposal drafted by the Township of Georgian Bluffs staff team and approved by all participating Councils
- To be eligible to hold appointment to the Board, all members must complete required training, as prescribed by the Act
- All appointments to the Board are in effect for the corresponding term of Council
 - All appointments remain valid through to November 2026
- Community appointees are appointed on a rotational basis, prioritizing communities that did not have community representation in the prior term



Role of the OPP

Introducing, Interim Detachment Commander, Marla Barfoot

- Reporting to the Board
- Local Action Plan
- Assist the Board with policy work
- Provision of policing services, under the purview of the Board



Procedures

- The Board must meet at least 4 times a year (Section 43)
 - The Joint Board is proposed to meet monthly in it's first year, with an opportunity to review meeting cadence in 2026
- Quorum a majority of members (Section 43)
 - For the Joint Board, quorum is 9 (half plus one)
- All meetings must be open to the public, subject to defined closed meeting exemptions (Section 44)
- Duty of confidentiality (Section 44)



Procedure By-law 2025-01

- Includes all procedural detail as described in the Act
- Established to govern and administer meetings of the Grey Bruce OPP Detachment Board
- Outlines responsibility of the Chair and Members
 - Chair: Proceeds over meetings, ensures all members have the opportunity to speak, calls each motion to a vote
 - Members: attend schedule meetings, carefully consider information to inform the decision-making process.
- All members are equal in a vote
- All members shall adhere to the Procedure By-law, use parliamentary language, and be respectful of their peers



Procedure By-law 2025-01

Motions

- All decisions of the Board shall be made by motion
- Every motion shall be moved, seconded and placed on the floor for discussion. The Chair will read the motion aloud, ask for a mover and seconder, and open discussion
- Motions require majority support of the Board to carry (9 of 16). Motions that do not carry are lost
- Any motion may be amended
- Any member may request a recorded vote on any motion
- Votes are taken by show of hands: 'those for, those against'
- Notice of Motion: may be provided by any member, in consultation with the Board Secretary. to bring a motion forward at a future Board meeting

 GREY BRUCE OPP

Procedure By-law 2025-01

Electronic Participation

- Members of the Board are able to attend all meetings remotely, via Microsoft Teams.
- Members participating electronically count towards quorum
- Permitted in closed session discussions
- Meeting procedures will be defined in a future Board policy
- Notify the Board Administrator should you wish to participate electronically



Code of Conduct

O.Reg 409/23

- Governs conduct of members appointed to OPP Police Services Boards, including:
 - Conduct becoming of a Board Member:
 - A member of an O.P.P. detachment board shall comply with any rules, procedures and by-laws of the O.P.P. detachment board
 - Statements and Attendance
 - A member of an O.P.P. detachment board shall attend all O.P.P. detachment board meetings unless able to provide a reasonable explanation for the absence
 - Misconduct and Conflicts of Interest
 - A member of an O.P.P. detachment board shall not participate in discussion of or voting with respect to matters at O.P.P. detachment board meetings if the member has a conflict of interest in the matter



Policy Work

- Local Policy Requirements Section 69
- For the April Board meeting, staff have prepared the following:
 - Board Remuneration Policy
 - Abuse, Discrimination, Harassment and Violence Policy
 - Code of Conduct Complaints Procedure
 - Board Budget Policy and Procedure
 - Community Safety and Well Being Plans
 - Electronic Participation Policy



Oaths of Office

The Clerk will call each member to the podium and administer their Oath.

The Oath is prescribed by O.Reg 416/23



Election of Chair and Vice Chair

The Clerk will open the floor for nominations of Chair and Vice Chair.

Once moved and seconded, nominations will be voted on by the Board.

The Chair will then assume control of the meeting.



2025 Board Meeting Calendar



Questions?

Contact Information

Jodi Ward, Board Administrator

jward@georgianbluffs.ca

Carly Craig, Manager of Legislative Services / Clerk ccraig@georgianbluffs.ca

Brittany Drury, Deputy CAO / Director of Corporate Services
bdrury@georgianbluffs.ca

