The Corporation of the Township of Georgian Bluffs

By-law Number 2025-017

This document is public and available in an accessible format upon request.

Being a By-law to appoint a citizen representative of the Township of Georgian Bluffs to the Multi Municipal Energy Working Group (MMEWG).

Whereas Section 5(3) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c.25, as amended required that a municipal power shall be exercised by by-law; and

Whereas, Section 8 (1) of the Municipal Act S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended provides municipalities broad authority to govern its affairs as appropriate to enhance the municipality's ability to respond to municipal issues; and

Whereas, the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie, Township of Chatsworth, Municipality of Grey Highlands, Township of Huron-Kinloss, Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula, and the Township of Georgian Bluffs have jointly established the MMEWG; and

Whereas, Council passed By-Law 2024-067 to appoint Mayor Sue Carleton to the MMEWG at their meeting on December 11, 2024; and

Whereas, the approved MMEWG Terms of Reference allow a citizen member to be appointed by each participating municipality for the purpose of bringing additional expertise to discussions;

Therefore, the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Georgian Bluffs enacts the following:

- 1. That Michael Pearson is hereby appointed as the Township of Georgian Bluffs citizen representative to the Multi Municipal Energy Working Group for the remainder of the 2022-2026 term of Council.
- 2. That this by-law shall come into force and effect upon being passed by Council.

Read a first and second time this 5th day of March 2025.

Read a third time and finally passed this 5th day of March 2025.

Mayor – Sue Carleton

Clerk – Carly Craig