

Date: Wednesday, December 4, 2024

From: Rayburn Murray, Deputy Clerk

Subject: COR2024-051

Report Committee of Adjustment – Council Member Appointments

This document and its attachments are public and available in an accessible format upon request.

## Recommendation

That report COR2024-051 be received; and

That staff be directed to present a by-law for enactment at the December 11, 2024, meeting of Council to appoint two members of Council to the Committee of Adjustment, expiring December 11, 2025.

## **Background**

Section 44 of the *Planning Act, 1990,* provides municipalities with the authority to establish a Committee of Adjustment. By-law 2022-042, being a By-law to establish a Committee of Adjustment and Committee procedures, was passed by Council on July 13, 2022, requiring that two (2) Council members shall be appointed to the Committee.

Section 44 (3) of the *Planning Act* provides that the members of the Committee who are members of a Council shall be appointed annually. As per the annual appointment requirements, Councillor Cathy Moore Coburn and Councillor Ryan Thompson were appointed to the Committee of Adjustment by By-law 2022-074 on December 14, 2022 for a one-year term and by By-law 2023-085 on December 13, 2023, for an additional one-year term.

At this time, staff are looking for direction from Council to appoint two members of Council to the Committee of Adjustment for a one year term. Following direction, a bylaw will be presented at the December 11, 2024 Council meeting.



## **Financial Impact**

Members of the Committee of Adjustment are compensated per By-law 2021-088 – Council Remuneration Policy.

## Conclusion

Per the requirements of the Planning Act, Council is required to re-appoint members to the Committee of Adjustment on an annual basis.

Respectfully Submitted: Rayburn Murray, Deputy Clerk