

## Representing the Districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay

P.O. Box 10308, Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6T8 www.noma.on.ca

p. 807.683.6662 e. admin@noma.on.ca

October 7, 2024

Honourable Anita Anand President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Transport House of Commons Ottawa, ON, K1A 0A6

Via Email: Anita.Anand@parl.gc.ca

Her Worship Mayor Olivia Chow Office of the Mayor City Hall, 2nd Floor 100 Queen St. W. Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

Via Email: mayor\_chow@toronto.ca

Re: The Future for Billy Bishop Airport Requires Urgent Action and a Modern Governing Agreement

Dear Minister Anand and Mayor Chow,

I am writing to you to express my support for the sustained operation and development of Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport. As the President of the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association, I am extremely concerned to learn that the Tripartite Agreement that governs operations at the Airport expires in 2033 – less than 9 years from now.

Billy Bishop Airport provides a critical service and point of connection for the North. Many of my community members rely on Billy Bishop airport to visit family, connect through to other destinations for work, travel and tourism or to access critical medical services, the convenience and ease of Billy Bishop Airport cannot be matched. It has been reported widely that Northern Ontario communities have experience drastic reductions in air service coming out of the COVID pandemic. Reliable air connectivity available through Billy Bishop Airport is an important economic and social lifeline for my community.

We were pleased to see the Federal Government's investment in a US Customs and Border Patrol preclearance facility, which is expected to open in 2025. This is welcomed news for communities in Northwestern Ontario as it will enable more and better connections through Billy Bishop Airport and amplify the airport's already strong economic contribution. We viewed this investment in the airports long term future as recognition of the very important role the airport has come to play for the communities it connects including Northwestern Ontario – very much at odds with an agreement that expires in a matter of years.

To that end, we would implore you, as signatories to the Tripartite Agreement, to commence a process to modernize the Tripartite Agreement and secure the long-term future of Canada's 9thbusiest airport and 3<sup>rd</sup>-busiest in Ontario. My community members rely on this service, and we

want to see even more connections and expanded services to the North. As elected leaders, we have a responsibility to think past our own front doors, reflect the needs of all of our constituents and those beyond our communities who are impacted by our decisions. Certainty about the airport's long-term future should not be something we as leaders should need to think long about. The time is now for the parties of the agreement to move forward with urgency to ensure this vital piece of transportation infrastructure and the important connections it facilitates are sustained.

Sincerely,

Wendy Landry

Wendy Landry

President, Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association

Mayor, Municipality of Shuniah

## Cc:

Hon. Soraya Martinez Ferrada, Minister of Tourism, Government of Canada

Hon. François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, Government of Canada

Hon. Arun Thangaraj, Deputy Minister of Transport Canada, Government of Canada

John D. Elvidge, City of Toronto, Clerk

Paul Johnson, City of Toronto, City Manager

Jag Sharma, City of Toronto, Deputy City Manager

RJ Steenstra, President and CEO, Ports Toronto

Sandra Pupatello, Chair, Board of Directors, Ports Toronto

Neil Pakey, President and CEO, Nieuport Aviation

Hon. Prabmeet Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation, Government of Ontario

Hon. Vic Fedeli, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade, Government of Ontario

MP Patty Hajdu (Thunder Bay - Superior North)

MP Marcus Powlowski – Thunder Bay-Rainy River

MP Eric Melillo – Kenora

MPP Greg Rickford, (Kenora – Rainy River)

MPP Kevin Holland, (Thunder Bay - Atikokan)

MPP Lise Vaugeois, (Thunder Bay - Superior North)

All member municipalities - CAOs and Clerks